Punialava’a to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

posted: 11:00 am - 16th May 2018

(Picture caption: Punialava’a is celebrating over five decades of music. CREDIT Punialava’a.)  

Five decades of music accomplishment will be recognised on May 24, when Punialava’a receives the Manukau Institute of Technology Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2018 Vodafone Pacific Music Awards.

The group was formed in the Samoan village Vailele in 1968 by former school teacher Rev. Iosefa Lale Peteru (Lale), and has been creating music for more than 50 years.

He produced hits in the 1970s, finding recognition and support from the Samoan National Broadcasting Service Radio and in 1980, Lale met his wife Vini nee Sofara, who became the band’s lead singer.

Together they won a song writing competition run by the Samoa Health Department about awareness for the disabled.

The pair continued to create more music with accomplished musicians such as the late Harry Miller, Danny Lankilde, Paul Pouesi, Agaiotupu Pouesi, Aliimau Jr Scanlan, Bernard Scanlan, Jr Hall, Sam Samia, the Katina Brothers and Rev. Falevi Jr Petana. 

They produced hit after hit throughout the 1980s and two decades later, musicians like Ben Vaai, Hemi Solomona, Tua Kaisara, Josh Mase, Masi Ropati and Ueli Soolefai recorded several successful albums with Punialava’a.

Viellani, Lale and Vini’s eldest of four children, started singing for the band in the mid-1990s and his younger siblings, Vania and Punialava’a joined the family band.

Miss Melody, the baby of the family, recently became the latest addition to the group.

Punialava’a has inspired many Pacific artists in the music industry – with many well-known artists recording and performing their songs.

With songs celebrated and appreciated by all age groups, the Punialava’a’s music, lyrics and metaphorical messages are authentic and true to the heart of Samoan and Pacific culture.

To celebrate their achievement, the full band will be performing live at the Vodafone Pacific Music Awards at Manukau’s Vodafone Events Centre on May 24. 

The 2018 Vodafone Pacific Music Awards finalists are:

Best Pacific Female Artist Award:

·         La Coco – Love & Other Things Part II

·         Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP

·         Razé – 4Seasons

NZ Music Commission Best Pacific Male Artist Award:

·         General Fiyah – Here to Stay

·         Kings – Chapter One

·         Noah Slee – Otherland

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Urban Artist Award:

·         9-5ers – Close to Home

·         Noah Slee – Otherland

·         SWIDT – Stoneyhunga

Pacific Media Network Best Pacific Group Award:

·         Sol3 Mio – A Very Merry Christmas

·         Three Houses Down –Smile

·         Tomorrow People – Lock Me Up

NZ On Air Best Pacific Music Video Award:

·         Samson Rambo – Here to Stay (General Fiyah)

·         Noah Slee & Si Jay Gould – Radar (Noah Slee)

·         Olivia Foa’i – Lakalaka (Te Vaka)

APRA Best Pacific Song Award:

·         General Fiyah – Here to Stay (written by Charlie Pome'e and Nicholas Pome'e)

·         Tomorrow People – Sa’ili Le Alofa (written by Kenape Saupese, Naomi Alatipi, Honiara Salanoa, Helen Tupai, Avina Kelekolio, Daniel Sugrue and Tana Tupai)

·         Te Vaka –Lakalaka (written by Opetaia Foa'i/Matatia Foa'i)

SunPix Best Pacific Language Award:

·         EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa'afetai Le Atua

·         Te Vaka – Lakalaka

·         Tomorrow People – Sa’ili Le Alofa

Auckland Council Best Pacific Gospel Artist Award:

·         TJ Taotua – Special Place

·         EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa'afetai Le Atua

·         Niue Youth Network – NYN Niue Gospel Album

Flava Best International Pacific Artist Award:

·         Junior Maile – When I'm Gone/Golden Touch

·         Tenelle – For the Lovers

·         Sam Kiles – Delay

Recorded Music NZ Best Pacific Music Album Award:

·         EFKS Te Atatu Junior Youth – Fa'afetai Le Atua

·         Ladi 6 – Royal Blue 3000 EP

·         Noah Slee – Otherland

·         Sol3 Mio – A Very Merry Christmas

·         SWIDT – Stoneyhunga

SIT/MAINZ Best Producer Award:

·         Anonymouz – The Undisciplined Son EP (Tha Movement)

·         Kings – Chapter One (Kings)

·         Parks, Brandan Haru and Julien Dyne – Royal Blue 3000 EP (Ladi 6) 

Visit HERE to book tickets or Pacific Music Awards for more information.