Ministry for Pacific Peoples — SunPix focus on Pacific heroes SunPix focus on Pacific heroes Skip to content

SunPix focus on Pacific heroes

SunPix focus on Pacific heroes

  • 08 Nov 2020
51B6F252 0FBB 4E41 8B31 17DABA12A3D9

The 2020 SunPix Pacific Peoples Awards has shone the spotlight on Pacific heroes making a significant contribution in their community through the COVID-19 pandemic.

Staged on Friday night at Auckland’s Eden Park, 13 winners were announced across seven awards categories during the sixth edition of the awards, which celebrate Pacific peoples’ contribution in Aotearoa.  

Secretary for Pacific Peoples and Chief Executive of the Ministry for Pacific Peoples (MPP) Laulu Mac Leauanae attended the event, where he congratulated the winners of the MPP Pacific Community Leadership Award - Rachel Enosa and Sally Dalhousie.

The Pacific Community Leadership category recognises Pacific people who lead community organisations in any field that strengthen Pacific communities.

Rachel is the creator of The Cause Collective, an organisation which leads social change in South Auckland. She has also established the Prepare Pacific website, set up to disseminate information about COVID-19 to Pacific communities.

As the Chief Operating Officer of The Fono, Sally aspires to assert a Pacific model practice as the strongest way to meet needs of communities.

In her acceptance speech at the awards, she says she looks forward to The Fono claiming its position alongside other Pacific organisations as leading experts in defining and delivering transformative solutions in health, education and economic issues.

Laulu spoke at the event and acknowledged SunPix and their tireless energy and effort to ensure a Pacific voice across multi-media platforms for many years.

“SunPix was founded on the Pacific values of Fa’aaloalo, Fa’atasiga and Fa’amaoni – Respect, Unity, Integrity – which aligns closely with our values as a Ministry, serving our Pasifika communities,” Laulu says.

SunPix Director Ngaire Fuata says the media organisation feels fortunate to be able to celebrate Pacific people in a year that has been full of uncertainty.

“These recipients have been at the forefront of keeping our communities safe during COVID-19,” Ngaire says.

The awards will air on a Tagata Pasifika 90-minute special on November 14, at 9.30am on TVNZ 1.

Congratulations to the 2020 SunPix Pacific Peoples Awards Winners:

Ministry for Pacific Peoples – Pacific Community Leadership Award

  • Rachel Enosa
  • Sally Dalhousie

Ministry of Education – Pacific Education Award

  • Sosaiete Aoga Amata Sāmoa I Aotearoa (SAASIA)
  • Lynn Lolokini Ikimotu Pavihi

Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Trade – Pacific Enterprise Award

  • Rob Teina / Supreme Plumbing
  • Amatailevi Stella Muller

Le Va – Pacific Emerging Leadership Award

  • Aigagalefili Fepulea’i Tapua’i
  • Tatyana Manoa

Pasifika Futures – Pacific Health & Wellbeing Award

  • Dr Apisalome Talemaitoga
  • Safaato’a (To’a) Fereti

PHARMAC – Pacific Service Excellence Award

  • Pasifika Medical Association – Debbie Sorenson
  • Talanoa Ako (Ministry of Education)

ProCare Health – Pacific Top Year 5 Medical Student

  • Leilani-Grace Richardson